top of page
  • charlotteoneill54

New Year, New Faces and a New Committee!

Happy New Year to all our Saigon Gaels family here in Vietnam and around the world. Let’s hope for brighter days in this the 10th anniversary of our beloved club, with much in store for 2021.

We are extremely fortunate as a club and a community to live life without fear in this time of unease. When many of our loved ones and friends shield themselves from this cruel virus, our club has come together on numerous occasions to train, converse and celebrate. One such occasion was the Saigon Gaels Annual AGM, hosted by our sponsors at Playmakers Bar in An Phu on the 12th of January where a new GAA committee was elected for the coming year.

The attendance of the AGM was a reflection on the growing members participating and getting involved with the administration world of GAA. This years committee saw the establishment of four much-needed roles to strengthen the executive running of our rapidly growing club. The new roles included Vice-Chairperson, Public Relations Officer, Camogie Officer and Events Officer.

The beginning of the meeting stressed the financial fortitude of the Saigon Gaels this year with revenue coming from different outlets such as sponsorship, membership and merchandise. Other matters to be summarised from the 2020 year included the participation and hosting of 2 North vs South Tournaments with our rivals in Hanoi, a railway cup in February, a number of charity events and the first annual Christmas Dinner Dance.

There were various chops and changes to the committee this year. Jonny McLoughlin, our ladies coach was elected as the new chairperson in a blind vote to replace longstanding chairman Cormac Hamill. Our health and safety officer Alison Griffin was voted in as the Gael’s first Vice-Chairwoman while Marianna Daniels and Gearoid Clarke maintained their positions as secretary and vice-secretary. John Copely was elected once again to look after the finances as Treasurer with Conor McGuckin coming in as Vice-Treasurer.

The club would like to extend it’s gratitude and thanks to our former chairman Cormac for his immense work over the years to bring the club where it is today. We wish him luck in his role with the ACB and hope for GAA in Asia to grow significantly in the coming years.

There are lots of exciting plans being made for the coming year so watch this space.

Below is the full list of our new committee elected:

Chairperson: Jonathan McLoughlin voted in by blind vote

Vice-Chairperson: Alison Griffin seconded without opposition

Secretary: Marianna Daniels seconded without opposition

Vice-Secretary: Gearoid Clarke seconded without opposition

Treasurer: John Copely seconded without opposition

Vice-Treasurer: Conor McGuckin seconded without opposition

Public Relations Officer: Charlie O’Neill seconded without opposition

Hurling Officer: James Bourke seconded without opposition

Camogie Officer: Mary Coughlan seconded without opposition

Health and Safety Officer: Alison Griffin seconded without opposition

Ladies Player’s Representative: Claire Gilligan seconded without opposition

Men’s Player’s Representative: Richie Blaine seconded without opposition

Charity Officer: Aoife Kelly seconded without opposition

Event Officer: Susan Li seconded without opposition

Social Subcommittee: Emer Taheny, Kathryn Waldron, seconded without opposition

Tournament Officer: Charlie O’Neill seconded without opposition

General Committee Members: Eamonn Gilligan, Naomi Reidy, Laura Gallagher

97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page